Dr. Guihua Yu and his students were featured in this months Texas Monthly due to their incredible research on creating a hydrogel that can 'conjure clean drinking water out of thin air.'

Donglei ‘Emma’ Fan, associate professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected as the 2022 Ilene Busch-Vishniac Lecturer at the Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering.

Goodenough's 100th Birthday Symposium Livestream this Friday!

Motors are everywhere in our day-to-day lives — from cars to washing machines. A futuristic scientific field is working on tiny motors that could power a network of nanomachines and replace some of the power sources we use in devices today.

Blood pressure is one of the most important indicators of heart health, but it’s tough to frequently and reliably measure outside of a clinical setting. For decades, cuff-based devices that constrict around the arm to give a reading have been the gold standard. But now, researchers at The University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University have developed an electronic tattoo that can be worn comfortably on the wrist for hours and deliver continuous blood pressure measurements at an accuracy level exceeding nearly all available options on the market today.

More than a third of the world’s population lives in drylands, areas that experience significant water shortages. Scientists and engineers at The University of Texas at Austin have developed a solution that could help people in these areas access clean drinking water.

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Professor Guihua Yu, has been elected for the 2022 Class of MRS Fellows by the Materials Research Society (MRS).

Two students from the Materials Science and Engineering graduate program were selected for the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship 2022.

Yuanyue Liu, assistant professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been awarded the Scialog Award.

Cockrell School of Engineering professor Guihua Yu, a materials scientist and engineer in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering and in UT’s Texas Materials Institute and Energy Institute, has received the 2022 Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research from The Welch Foundation