Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Deji Akinwande, has been elected for the 2023 Class of MRS Fellows by the Materials Research Society (MRS).

The title of MRS Fellow honors those MRS members who are notable for their distinguished research accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, world-wide. It is intended that by representing excellence in science and engineering and dedication to the advancement of materials research, the MRS Fellows will exemplify the highest ideals of accomplishment and service embodied in the MRS Mission.  

Akinwande Deji newAkinwande was cited for ‘contributions to the development of wafer-scale monolayer graphene, and the realization of flexible nanosystems.’

The 2023 honorees will be celebrated in San Francisco at the 2023 MRS Spring Meeting being held on April 10-14 with other MRS Award recipients. 

Akinwande was elevated to IEEE Fellow in 2021, and he was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2017. He has been honored with the 2018 Fulbright Specialist Award, 2017 Bessel-Humboldt Research Award, the U.S Presidential PECASE award by President Obama, the inaugural Gordon Moore Inventor Fellow award, the inaugural IEEE Nano Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize, the IEEE “Early Career Award” in Nanotechnology, the NSF CAREER award, several DoD Young Investigator awards, the 3M Nontenured Faculty Award, and was a past recipient of fellowships from the Kilby/TI, Ford Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and Stanford DARE Initiative.